Motivation pt. 1 of a 3 part series.

Motivation.

When I quit smoking, I split my issues into “directly related,” such as withdrawal or  finishing off a meal, and “indirectly related,” dealing with conditions that make you stomp off and go smoke.  Sometimes it was hard to tell.  Motivation could be disguised as a direct issue but it’s not.  For example, I was able to quit smoking without relying on motivation by focusing on cleaning house before I quit.

What does cleaning house have to do with quitting smoking?  Well, that’s why it is an indirect issue and this is where the path veers off and gets crooked.  Cleaning house has everything to do with quitting smoking when you come home from work to a messy house and your attempts to get other people to pitch in and help out aren’t working.  That stuff will still go on long after you quit smoking and you won’t be able to stomp off and go smoke.  Moreover, when this stuff happens in the middle of your withdrawal, you toy with the idea to quit quitting and try again later.  One momentary loss in motivation to quit and you are heading for those smokes.  How do you sustain yourself until the motivation comes back?

This does not mean you have to become the perfect housekeeper before you quit smoking, this means you watch and learn how fleeting motivation can be.  Don’t control it.  Learning how to drop the struggle in trying to manifest motivation, is a practice in of itself.  Take a few days to be aware of when motivation appears and when it leaves.

Oftentimes I would sit unmotivated and go “ugh, that means I have to get up and clean when I feel like this.”   … And I would continue to sit there, getting used to the idea.  Also, this was personal work on ownership.  “This is my time.  This is my timeline.  This is my house.  This is my stuff.  It will get done.  My stuff will get done when I do it.   Anytime I want.”

Who said I was NEVER going to do it in the first place?

Sometimes that means going to bed with everything undone … and not getting done in the morning either.  Sometimes that means standing with your mother-in-law, in the middle of your mess, while thinking, “my house, my timeline,” while not uttering one excuse or apology.

Pretty soon, your thoughts snap into place about what you want done and why you want it done.  It has nothing to do with your spouse or your kids, or worthiness, or where in the heck is my motivation to get up and go do it.  You just get up and put one foot in front of the other, put one thing away, then another, and all the sudden you’ve accomplished something.  And you are doing it because it is your stuff, your house, and its your time.

Tagged: ,

4 thoughts on “Motivation pt. 1 of a 3 part series.

  1. HelenSaying July 27, 2014 at 9:10 am

    Enjoyed the read and the insight into your thought processes. I have given up blaming my grown up kids for the mess. I know it is me. Just not motivated to do anything about it until it becomes more than a straight forward task and therefore the motivation is easily dissipated. Look forward to more on motivation from you.

    Like

    • 04ling July 27, 2014 at 10:04 am

      Thank You!

      Like

  2. Sandi November 8, 2014 at 12:19 am

    “Cleaning House” caught my eye because I don’t seem to notice how cluttered things are getting until it’s overwhelming. I don’t mean to blame my messy house on being near-sighted, but I don’t realize it’s gotten out of control until my mother or mother-in-law comes over (too bad this doesn’t happen more often). I need to channel June Cleaver, I think!

    Like

  3. […] My Work in Non-motivation pt. 1 of 3 […]

    Like

Comments are closed.

