Blogging 101- Be inspired by the Community

Today, (well, my today) I am to write a post that builds on one of the four comments I left from the last assignment and I have to link back to them.  Since, not only do I have to learn how to do it, I need to practice so I am not fumbling around when I do it on my own, I will do all four comments.

First off I stopped by Fill Your Own Glass  I knew what she meant right from the title.  I have my string of mantras and I felt some sort of “axiom kinship” to my “I control myself and things, not other people”.  So I had to stop, check out her blog and tell her so.  BTW the only time I have a problem with this –control things and not people– axiom is when I am trying to get their focus off me and place it on the thing.

Next, I came across someone who is as far behind as I am at Sappy As A Tree  I just finished chiding myself over being behind because I had wanted to take part in this Blogging 101 course.  I want to learn something.  I want to build a blog!  I don’t want to skim over lessons and advice just to keep up with everyone else.  I want to upload knowledge in my head.  Anyway, even though she was behind, I could tell that she was actually using the techniques laid out in the course and I wanted to comment and let her know that I could tell she was being thorough and I had just settled this argument with myself.

Last month or so, I participated in Writing 201, even though my blog was new and I hadn’t participated in Writing 101.  Anyway, I read a post that I still find myself thinking about.  I decided that since I was scouting about the blogosphere that I would stop by and hit “follow” like I should have when I first arrived at King Of States.  This time around, I came across another post of hers about some CEO’s comment that the women’s greatest threat to the modern feminist movement is a preoccupation with counting calories.  I found it unnerving and I just knew it would stick with me for a while.  I was right and later that day, I found my own thoughts evolving.  He wouldn’t have said that to some fledgling male protégé.  Would he?  He’d say, “Get on that office treadmill because your health is important. Besides! You want to look as equally powerful and sinewy as the leadership you project.”  Better yet.  He wouldn’t even bring it up.  Meanwhile, since I was thinking about her post, I was thinking about my comment. I may have been a little snarky.  Risky for a new comment, but by her posts, it looks like she could handle it.  In my mind she is thrilled that I said,  “…your writing haunts me.  Thanx.”

I remember when my adult daughter called me and we got into an argument because I included her in something on my facebook page …  okay follow me here …  I demonstrated a lack of controlling myself and not others in a pesky rebuke of trying to get her to control herself and not others.  It was all supposed to be good FUN! (okay and get this…) While dropping some f-bombs, I told her that she had to start seeing me in a better light!

Although this has nothing to do with King of States, that is not the point.  I have no idea what she is thinking and I need to be fine with that because she is in control of what she thinks.  I put out there what I put out there and I have to deal with it and that is me controlling me.  What I am doing is demonstrating how I can get myself in a tizzy over leaving comments.  And how one word, (Thanx) can tip the scales from being all right to maybe not being all right.  Maybe even just a letter.  Would it have been better if I wrote thanks instead of thanx?

I scouted a few more blogs, and I came upon, The Girl Next Door Is Black.  I followed her but didn’t comment.  Why? I chickened out.  Oh, there is too much to say.  I wish she was my neighbor.  I could have and should have commented on the neutral ground she provided with her post about visiting Sedona, Ariz.  I’ve been there and slid down the river on a natural water slide made of granite.  I did not see the ruins or the spiritual places that she talks about.  Now I feel need to go back.  Why didn’t I say something?  Well, she had more weighty topics that were worthy of commenting.  Now, I am thinking that maybe commenting on the frivolous trip would be more important.  Anyway.  In response to one post, I wanted to comment that everyone eats watermelon and she shouldn’t exclude herself from eating it in public.  In another post about being exhausted with being black, (or maybe exhausted with everyone’s opinion of her being black) I too wanted to comment, about the same struggles in different categories.  I work hard and then get exhausted with everything being the same with woman issues. These days it’s exhausting there is no support in being a parent, that there are all these watch dogs lurking around, ready to go after you and take your kids away and label you the naughtiest person in the world.  The scum of the earth.  But since I am Norwegian, German, Irish, is that muddling her message?  Am I contributing or negating?  There is so much to say and comments are so… so… little… So with an attempt to control myself I said nothing.  But I followed her blog.  Maybe she will follow mine and we can blog to each other.  (hm, reading that sounds cheesy.)  But! I really enjoy her blog.

Getting over some common social anxiety is one thing, the better thing is that I am happy with my choices to follow these blogs.  Thanks for posting.

Now, lets see if I did all the links and ping backs correctly.

Tagged: ,

5 thoughts on “Blogging 101- Be inspired by the Community

  1. Sandi October 12, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    I was literally trying to decide whether I had given this assignment enough of an effort in an earlier post when your pingback showed up in my notifications 🙂 I enjoyed hearing you talk about the process of whether to post or not to post a comment. Sometimes, when I want to say something but can’t seem to get the words right, I will “like” a post. Then, it shows up in my Reader under “posts I like,” so that I can go back and try to articulate something later. Even with my best intentions, I don’t always do a great job with commenting–all part of the learning curve, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Michelle W. October 12, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    It would have been fine even without the “thanx,” and I appreciate the comment 🙂

    Like

  3. fillyourownglass October 12, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    Thank you for visiting my blog and for the shout out!

    Like

  4. Keisha || The Girl Next Door is Black October 13, 2014 at 12:01 pm

    Hi Heather! I am so flattered by your kind words. Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I love when people leave comments. There’s so much we can learn from each other and it’s only by sharing our experiences and thoughts that we can do that. If someone feels compelled to to take the time to comment on something I wrote, as long as it’s respectful, I welcome it, I consider it a positive sign that I’ve provoked thought.

    Great post and thanks again! 🙂

    Like

  5. 04ling October 13, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    Thanks everyone. This experience has been a blast.

    Like

Comments are closed.

