Liebster Award

It is so fitting of my heritage; the awards that are out there, I get the German one.  I learned the definition of Liebster.  Cool.

The Liebster Award has German origins. The word “liebster” has several definitions: dearest, sweetest, kindest, nicest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, welcome, sweetheart and boyfriend.

It aims to discover new bloggers and welcome them to the blogosphere. Bloggers award other bloggers. Here are the rules for accepting the Liebster award:

Post the award on your blog.
Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog.
Write 11 random facts about yourself.
Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.
Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter.  Ask your nominees 11 questions

Thank You

Okay, so… First of all I need to thank The Crafty Lady In Combat Boots she presented the award to me in September when we were in Blogging 101 together.  I should have thanked her immediately, but I didn’t.  I had to learn what was going on and now I think I have some things figured out.  So Thank You, Crafty Lady!  (I just love that name, “crafty lady in combat boots.”)

Nominate 11 Bloggers….

I’ll get to that later,  I’ve procrastinated enough, I will do this first and finish the nomination later.  Since this nomination is about building community with all this links and link backs, I take this seriously.

11 Random Facts

  1. I married at 18
  2. I am still married
  3. I am a mother of two.  A Girl and A Boy.  All grown up.
  4. I garden.
  5. I live for spring and summer. I think autumn is pretty, but I start slowing down and I’m not myself during the fall.
  6. I can’t stand winter, but I always get excited when it snows.  I kind of have a thing for storms up until they get really dangerous.  Then we can do without.
  7. I tried running a flower shop during the year of the recession when they told us we weren’t in a recession.  That went over well. Not.
  8. I think I like to cook and bake but when I get into the middle of it, not really.  I think I should be more capable than what is going on.  I would rather do laundry.
  9. I learned how to enjoy household chores and to not run away from them.  Enjoy is a strong word.  I’ve learned how to not get angry while doing them.
  10. I left for 15 days to quit smoking.  Broke as ever, I managed to find a cheap cabin at a local lake and I hid out during my withdrawal.  Those 15 days were freaking awesome!  Really, that is kind of sad because my Husband and kids are the best thing that ever happened to me, and they weren’t there …on top of going through withdrawal.  How is that awesome?  But it was.
  11. If I’d receive a drop sum of $10 thousand today, I’d put my two weeks in tomorrow and stay home for a year to write.  I have goals to complete, which is to finish my current 6 book series and finish the quitting smoking book.  If I can’t replace my income for a second year I can go to the mall or the local hardware stores and put in my apps on January 1, 2016.  I almost don’t care if the books don’t become a huge success  Well okay, I care, I know that just writing them doesn’t induce wild success, but they do need to get finished.  I have this innate need to complete my writing goals.

And that is 11, I guess I am going to end on that random note.

My 11 questions from my presenter, the The Crafty Lady In Combat Boots.

1.  What is your biggest dream in life?  To sit at home and type.  Being a writer was never supported by any English or Language Arts teacher ever.  It took some time before the dream of being a writer was fleshed out.  I do not see the CODE in the English language that my editor sees.  Thank God I met her.

2. Are you planning to make it happen and how? Yes! I wrote about my False Quit Dates to quit smoking.  Then I entered a zone of perpetual edit, so I joined a writers group.  They complimented me and said my perspective compliments wasn’t only for smokers.  Since I was in perpetual edit, I just HAD to know life after a manuscript.  I figured another exercise I did broke up easily into 6 little books.  So far they’ve been about 35 pages long.  This way, I can afford to pay my editor.  I made book covers.  I learned how to format, paginated, and upload the book.  I learned the different needs between CreateSpace and Kindle.  I have my account set up and I have even had some deposits go into that account. I will write, publish, repeat, 6 times before my big book comes out.  Good practice.

3. If you became a millionaire, what would be the first thing you bought/invest in.  Oh, I already have a list.  For one, I have to make a million.  If I live to 100 and I can live off of 2,000.00 a month then I have brought in one million dollars.  I probably won’t live to 100 and all those months that I don’t make will go towards end of life expenses, like hospital care, meds, common surgeries in old age.  So if I made one million in one year, it is going into the bank, (or investments) with 2,000.00 a month payouts.  I have to say that I would be impulsive and pay off my house and buy a new car.  I’d still take my year off then do my assessment on Jan. 1, 2016 to see if I would need to go back to work, or live off my writing. I’ll be a little more careless and giving with my second and third million, if it comes my way.  I have a plan, I figure I have just as much of a right to see it work as anyone else.  I might have the ability to make the millions but I can’t take them with me, so why not leave the planet better than I found it.

4. What is the most embarrassing moment of your life this far? I grew up thinking that other people’s embarrassment was my problem.  I’ve done some good work to not get embarrassed much any more. It has to do with changing my viewpoint to, “If it is their problem, it’s their problem, I can only do something if it is my problem.”  Sometimes I think this sounds rude, but mostly I found it to be a case of them being rude, not me.  (You really have to be in the moment to appreciate this one.)

5. What is your favorite sport to do? Swimming.  Biking.  Hiking.  Right now, I’m learning how to like running.

6. What is the weirdest thing you’ve ever heard/read of? I think we are tapped out of the weirdest thing.  Between the shock jocks, media, the internet, and tats going mainstream; if we haven’t found all the weird stuff to be found then, I think we are used to the shock.  It’s time we start moving up before we find a new bottom and are all blasé about it and then find another bottom. This could be me showing my age, except I think I’m hearing it from the 20 somethings too, unless I am just hearing it from a certain group that has always been there and always will be.  Anyway, when everything is weird, nothing is weird.

7. What is the biggest reason why you decided to accept this challenge? (I’m assuming the question is directed at Blogging 101.) I wanted to do things on my blog and I wasn’t quite sure how to do them.  I always need to improve and do better.  I’m not a perfectionist, but I can be meticulous until I decide it is not worth putting anymore time in.  Most times I am pretty happy with my work even though I know someone else will come in and do a better job in less time.  Someday, I will be able to hire out for services, but I like the idea that I know what is going on, even though I don’t have a firm grasp of it.

8. What would be your dream job? Oh, I’m living my dream job.  I just need to get the income generated so I can ditch the job that pays the bills.

9. What is the scariest thing that has ever occurred to you?  I was over-employed, working 16 hour days during the weekend and getting 8 hours sleep over the entire weekend and not just in one night. I thought I was making up for it by sleeping extra on the other nights, until I came across a video when streaming videos first came out like YouTube.

I fixated on this video of a person falling asleep at the wheel without a seat belt.  He rolled his car and he floated into the backseat and his head went out the rear passenger window and the car came to rest with a crunch on the passenger side. (his head was out the window) I can’t believe I kept watching this video. I think I fixated on it because there was no blood and I was trying to see other evidence of the video being doctored.

Fake or not, this video resonated right to my core.  I was already passing a ditched car here and I would know, that was going to be me falling asleep at the wheel.  I’d pass a little fender bender there and think, if I don’t get out of the rat race and slow down, that is going to be me.  So when I saw this video it really shook me up.  Soon after, I was kicked off the money-maker schedule at my job and I think this was the reason I didn’t fight to stay on it.  My journey into underemployment began here and I just took it.  It scared me so much that 7 years later, I will not pick up a second job to work that type of schedule again.  I will find something else that surpasses that income with less investment of time, more enjoyment, and any stress will be borne of my own and not out of someone else expectations.  Blech!

10. (I had to get up and walk off question #10.)  What would you do if you found a brand new iPhone 6 on the street that someone has lost?  I have to return it.  I have this perception of what is mine is mine.  Like if someone brings a relish tray or cookies to work and sets them out, I have to ask if they are for everybody before I just go up and eat one.  (That helps with calorie consumption.)  The iPhone would be the same way.  I have my own iPhone 5c, but it is mine and all my stuff is on there.  That iPhone 6 would have a whole bunch of someone else stuff on it.  I could erase it, except, it is their stuff.   okay… On that note, I would get impulsively nosey and go through it with claims of trying to find the owner.  Not to hold that information against them or be judgmental.  Just fascinated with the human character.  Like gaining insight.

 

Those were really good questions.

I ask the same 11 questions of the nominees. 

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Sandi October 27, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    I enjoyed reading your “random” answers, April: I find your honesty and your direct way of speaking so refreshing! (The Crafty Lady did a great job of asking questions, too.)

    Like

  2. 04ling October 28, 2014 at 1:22 am

    Thanks Sandi!

    Like

Comments are closed.

