Day 1 NaBloPoMo

It’s National Blog Posting Month!  I thought what a wonderful way to build content for a new blog!  After all, when I found National Novel Writing Month  (NaNoWriMo)  I took March and created my book by writing 1,500 words a day.  Four years later I’m still editing that book and I’m in the middle of publishing a series of six little commuter reads, but hey, I’m figuring things out.  I’m finding out how to be a writer … and today is no different.

Today I am eager to get started with creating my post … but wait!  How do I cross-post?  Where do I cross-post? There is a newsletter to sign up for too, gotta remember that.  Log in and create a profile?  I did.  It seems … separate.  Did I do the right thing?  I’ve gotta be somewhere by 12:30.  Will I be done by then? 

This is what I do.  I am uncertain about everything and I pick one thing to get started.  Most times that leads to more questions, but hey, that just means I will be more thorough as I get more done.  Leave no rock unturned, but it’s my choice to take or leave what is under the rock.  I base those choices on if I really want to do this or not.  So far it is looking like I want to do this. The need to post is outweighing all the angst and fear of what I do not know.  The satisfaction I feel after, figuring that out, is telling me to keep on going.  Find the next step.  Cover all bases.  Be curious.  Be thorough.

Today is the day to figure it out.

Tomorrow is the day to see if I can repeat it.

The next day; see if I can do it in less time.

AND I’M OFF and running …  I NaMo!

yay!

Tagged: , ,

5 thoughts on “Day 1 NaBloPoMo

  1. Life in the moment November 1, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    I have the same question about cross-post? and your last paragraph really hits home with me!! I feel the same way but I am confident we will figure it all out :-). Congrats on day one!!

    Like

  2. Sandi November 1, 2014 at 11:40 pm

    I was also confused about the NaBloPoMo event. I filled out the form this a.m.–check. My blog is on the list (the other blog, b/c it needs more posts)–check. But then, as you say, I had to go. Let me know if you figure out how to cross-post. Do you comment? Use that Linky form? The site was confusing.

    Like

  3. 04ling November 2, 2014 at 12:00 pm

    First I did the linky thing then I left the house. When I came back, I created an account so I could log-in to BlogHer. It takes you to a different place that is not so NaBloPoMo specific. I’m sure you have seen it… has the menu of food, family, style …. and a place for blogging…. I’m getting lost again… I’m hitting post comment before I take all day to reply… my main point is that I posted two yesterday and I don’t know how I did that, I thought I double clicked… anyway I just wanted to let you know I saw your comment…stay tuned. Let me know what you learn…. please…

    Like

  4. 04ling November 2, 2014 at 12:36 pm

    okay, first I read this: http://www.blogher.com/why-you-should-cross-post-blogher
    Then I read this: http://www.blogher.com/how-do-i-blog-bloghercom
    So far it seems that I did everything right with logging in and creating a profile, except I may have hit the back button after posting … just cuz I was lost … if you do this, it will create a double post. When I just left your last comment and started scouting around BlogHer, I found only one post. It sounds as I was lucky that BlogHer only deleted one post and not both — thinking that I was trying to spam it.

    Like

  5. 04ling November 2, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    The question that I REALLY want answered — how do I post once on wordpress and feed it to BlogHer then direct all views and follows back to my wordpress site? (if you can follow what I am saying) — I don’t think I am going to find an answer, just because it doesn’t work that way. So far it looks like, IF you WANT to cross-post, you have to post everything twice. They even suggest cutting and pasting from another site, because they don’t have an auto-save feature to write a first draft from their site. All your work could be lost in a server blip

    I don’t know if you have to add up your views between wordpress and blogher. I got 12 views on blogher and 12 on wordpress. I don’t know if I have 12 or 24.

    But anyway… It sounds like you don’t have to cross-post because you’ve got the linky thing that they select from and you are on the blogroll from registering. BUT! Cross-posting raises your standing for google search and creates another place for readers and possible followers to find you.

    I could be wrong on all this, but I think I’ve got something concrete to accept or dismiss as I go farther along and get used to it.

    Hope I helped instead of throwing another monkey wrench in the whole thing. Hopefully we attract someone who is more familiar with the process. 😉

    Like

Comments are closed.

