Day 2 NaBloPoMo; Quitting Smoking, Direct Issues and Indirect Issues

Most of my work with the False Quit Dates was to activate triggers and deal with them while I continued to smoke.  I captured the triggers, or issues, and dissected them into the most basic concept … I pondered them.  Triggers are issues related to smoking that makes a person fail to quit.  I divided these triggers into Direct Issues and Indirect Issues.

Direct Issues, basically are habits.  Smoking after a meal.  Get in the car, start it up and light up a cigarette.   Wake up, grab a cup a coffee, go on the porch to watch the sunrise and have a smoke.   You may have the idea that if you quit smoking you’ll never be able to go on the porch with a cup of coffee without clinging to the memory of having a cigarette.  This is especially hard when it comes to the after dinner cigarette … you need to eat.

Indirect issues are triggers that make you stomp off to go smoke.  Having a bad day at work.  Upsetting a customer.  Getting into a car accident or at least having a close call.  Getting angry that after taking care of everyone else, there is no time for your stuff.

Usually when I set a False Quit Date, a couple of issues would come up.  First, I would pick the easiest ones to work on.  I figured if I worked my way up, the hard ones wouldn’t be so hard when I got to them.  Second, I would try to pick a direct issue and an indirect issue.  I figured the first one was practice and the second one was an attitude adjustment.

Yes, I would get on myself about screwing around and I should just get busy quitting.  Except unlike before where I tried to quit and failed, I felt like I was actually doing something about my quit, instead of giving up and continuing to smoke.  This way, even though I was continuing to smoke; I didn’t give up.  That is why I kept setting another False Quit Date.

Tagged: ,

