Day 14 NaBloPoMo; Drop the Competition

Take one day and count how many times you felt the pang of competition.   All of it; from you and against you.  No one has to know what you are doing, just go through your day being aware.

There are so many different kinds:

Racing against time

  • be on time
  • to get it all done on time.
  • besting your former time

Competition between people

  • one on one
  • team competitions
  • someone trying to win you over
  • someone trying to be better than you
  • to be better than others
  • proving intelligence

Competition with self

  • improve performance
  • perfectionism
  • do more

The challenge is to take a couple of days and drop all competition.  I’m not talking about making any life changing changes from now on.  All I am saying is to take one day and get curious.  What would a whole day without being competitive be like?  Now, I didn’t have as huge of a shift as I did from You Can Care Without Worry, but it was big enough.  Well, from that, I didn’t worry about not being competitive.

This has been a huge relief, because I am not a competitive person, although I acted like it because that’s what I was taught, or I felt that everyone was competing with me whether I wanted to or not.

As I look back on my life some of my worst, uncharacteristic moments had come out of a sense that everything was a competition and everyone was involved, so I am glad it is over.

It felt like I erased competition, then rebooted it and found my good sportsmanship.  I’ve been able to take part in some good-natured teasing.  I’ve been able to support opposing players.  I’ve been able to stay on task and not worry about everyone else.  Having fun is fun again.

After the fact I still have problems when people try to compete with me, so I rely on the fact that I can only control myself and not others.  Although I find it humorous that people compete in a noncompetitive situation.

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Day 14 NaBloPoMo; Drop the Competition

  1. Sandi November 16, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    Do you think it is school that sets up us to compete for the rest of our lives? Even as an adult, far removed from school days, I have to suppress the desire to “win.” The truth is, winning doesn’t bring peace; I find that peace comes more from a job well done. I think you’re onto something here 🙂

    Like

  2. 04ling November 16, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Thank you and … Yes, I do, think schools set up the building blocks to compete, everything from grades, to naturally favored students, and of course sports, and then, limited spots for elective classes and such. But it wasn’t only that. It was the big push for women going into business. 80’s mergers and take-overs. Commercials always clamoring for bigger, better, best. If you aren’t competing with yourself to get your socks whiter than ever before you are comparing and judging, to see if your socks are whiter (better) than your friends.

    In my Kindness book I wrote something about embrace your B side. To actually embrace it was both liberating and scary. I should put a link to the book, or blog an excerpt or something….

    Like

Comments are closed.

