Day 15 NaBloPoMo; Empty Fridge = Good Thing?

How on earth can an empty fridge equate to a good thing?

It took a few times before I caught it, but I was standing there in front of a near empty fridge trying to plan our next meal the day before payday … and it felt good that I didn’t have to throw food out.

WoW! About three payday’s in a row, I bought what I needed and followed through with all my meal plans.

I didn’t even over think it.  I only planned 4 or 5 meals not thinking that they would cover 15 days, but eating leftovers and making good use of leftover ingredients had multiplied each meal plan by 3. (we both eat at work so one meal is covered)

I decided that this need to “save it for later” or “just in case,” was indicative of not being raised under the most lucrative financial circumstances.  That’s also coupled with rural influence from my Grandparents keeping the pantry stocked. You know for when there is a blizzard, or for the fact that they got paid once or twice a year between the sale of grain and some livestock. As a grown up, a full fridge meant that life was plentiful. A fully stocked fridge gave me the feeling that I was a good mom.

In truth, a full and plentiful life means to go buy more food. Besides wouldn’t a good mom would cook that food. Not to mention I would get mad throwing out food that I had plans for and instead it wasted away in the fridge. That meant wasted money and goals not achieved. I worked too hard for all that food to go into the garbage.

Once I had captured the idea that an empty fridge was a good thing, I had to remind myself of the idea. I was spurned on to meet future goals of planning and cooking. The new knowledge of planning 5 meals made it easy to plan 6 or 8 meals.  I planned for more incase the new plans didn’t work out as well as what I just experienced. It was pretty tight.

It just seems so backwards from the concept that an empty fridge means somethings wrong.  It usually means hungry bellies, needy people, and hard times.  Who’d a thunk an empty fridge means it’s time to shop some more?

Tagged: , , ,

