Daily Archives: November 16, 2014

Day 16 NaBloPoMo; Tech Frustrations

Sandi from sappy as a tree took Photography 101 and after a few sessions said that she should look at each assignment individually as a new experience.  I told her that was a great idea and at least for me, it would be a new exercise in patience.  Normally, I would go into a project, thinking if I learned something from the first time or session, that I would expect less trouble and possibly less effort in the second, just because I had gained new knowledge.  “You know better you do better,” right?  Boy am I sinking my teeth into Sandi’s advice.

This is my third time using CreateSpace and Kindle.  At first I was real nervous, because all instructions were for Word.doc and I have Mac Pages.  But I figured it out.  The instructions tell you to indent .5  I can indent .5.   Create 10 pts after each paragraph instead of a carriage return.  So I formatted 10 pts.  If you know your product it is easy to do.  Except each time has been steadily getting worse!

I published a second time and Pages ’09 updated to Pages 5.  After clicking around forever and working my way through, I made it work.  Now, I go to publish again and we had another Pages update for the cloud.   It seems every update makes the technology go backwards.

Oh I get it.  With e-readers there are no headers, or page numbers, or margins.  But yet, I need all these things to upload to CreateSpace once, then they do the kindle version for me … if I upload it in a .doc … which I can do … but only after I figure out to do the headers right, mirror the margins, and get the page numbers in the outside corners.

I even had my friend come over with her new Microsoft Word program to see if we could e-mail it back and forth.  We lost something in the margins or we didn’t do it right.   I’m tired, I’m done, and I don’t know what to do and I still had to NaBloPo, so this is it, I’m watching some TV and going to bed.  If anyone has any ideas, please share.  Sandi, I’m trying to take your advice and I’m proud that I can figure this stuff out, but I’m done being challenged with every book I publish and I’d rather get back to writing.

Blech!

