Nuns, Priests, and Equality

 2012-2015 ©deskridge

Daniel Eskridge ©2012-2015 deskridge Click photo for link to Deviantart

I have questions.

Why are women fighting to become priests?

Why aren’t women fighting for equal job rights as nuns?

Why not break barriers for nuns to lead services and administer the sacraments?

Wouldn’t that be the epitome of the women’s movement?  To gain equality while wearing our femaleness?  Isn’t that what we are fighting for? …. to broaden our job description?

It was agonizing to watch part of an interview with Cardinal Sean on 60 minutes this weekend.  It seemed as if he couldn’t get around his own distinction of men/priests and women/nuns.

I got mad that we’re stuck in this archaic view of male and female job descriptions, then I decided I better suspended my anger so I could ponder it.  I thought why are women always trying to become men? Why do we have to infiltrate the man’s world by acting as men? … As passing ourselves off as men!

If I can achieve whatever I want, I want to fulfill them while being me and using my traits, talent, gifts, resources, lessons, character … and I am female.  I shouldn’t have to change who I am to perform some job duties.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

One thought on “Nuns, Priests, and Equality

  1. […]  A favorite post that sums up this question is here.  Mostly how to get a handle on life.  How we need to stop hating the term Homemaker, or even […]

    Like

Comments are closed.

