Day 20 NaBloPoMo; Prompt- Do I have a book in me?

BlogHer; is prompting do I have a book in me?

Me; Yes, I have several.  Thank you very much for asking.

At this moment I have two little commuter reads (34 pg.) published on Amazon and I am working to upload my third.

No one knows about them, beyond my writers group and this blog.  I have people around me who also have books in them and sadly are very competitive.  I took a page from my own book on quitting smoking and decided to quit talking about it, so they know I write, but they don’t know that I am published.

I know I am breaking the first rule of marketing.  But I am pretty happy with my choice.  In my own head I don’t see that I am really done until the series is finished.  My goal is to have a book release party when I am done and onto my second project.  That way if I receive any negativity, I can say I have some sales under my belt.  In the mean time, while I finish the other 4 books in the series, I do build up my marketing strategy.  Plus, I’ve learned how to make covers and I built a facebook page, created a twitter account and blog under my author name.  I keep learning about the craft with my writers group and blogging events.

I may find this frustrating, I don’t really find it sad.

BlogHer;  Is the blog related to your book or totally different.

Me;  Yes.

Mostly it is related to the book.  I think I have something good and I need to get it out there.  Two, it markets the books.   Three; when I am ready it will help me explore things that are totally different.  Write now I am writing non-fiction, I think the blog will help me stretch my fingers over some fiction.

Right now everything is about positioning myself.  Get a few books up and see how they do.  Get your marketing platform down.  Learn how each one works.   I find the whole process fascinating and I’m putting myself out there.  I tossed the ball and now, I’m ready to play catch.  I’m looking forward to it.

*Not edited because I have to stop and go to work….

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Day 20 NaBloPoMo; Prompt- Do I have a book in me?

  1. Sandi November 20, 2014 at 1:40 pm

    I enjoyed the dialogue style of this post (and the info. It conveyed).

    Like

    • 04ling November 20, 2014 at 11:01 pm

      Thanks Sandi! It helped to make sure I covered everything the prompt asked for. I was in such a rush though.

      Like

Comments are closed.

