Day 22 NaBloPoMo: Christmas Decorations Before Thanksgiving

I am one for timely holidays.  I think we should celebrate the holidays in the order they come, but lights out here in the middle of everywhere are very popular.  Even other religions are finding ways to light up yard either through landscaping lights, fall colors, or designer white or ice blue lights to signify winter or the New Year.  Why?

I took this picture at 5:34 this evening.  If we were on fake time, it would be 6:34.

 

Nov 22 5:34

Tagged: , ,

8 thoughts on “Day 22 NaBloPoMo: Christmas Decorations Before Thanksgiving

  1. Sandi November 22, 2014 at 10:23 pm

    Already?? Wow.

    Like

  2. 04ling November 22, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    Well… just the outside ones. We had 37 degree temps today. It smelled like spring outside. Indoor tree doesn’t get put until after Thanksgiving. When we used to shop for a real tree, sometimes it was nice having a bare tree up for a couple days before we decorated it, but everything got to be too much and we now have an artificial one. We keep the lights on it and haul the whole tree up to the attic.

    I know … we’re cheaters. LOL but it takes me two or three days to decorate. (WoW saying that aloud is absolutely nuts.)

    Like

  3. K. Renae P. November 22, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    I laughed at “fake time”. I will forever call it that now.

    Like

  4. fillyourownglass November 22, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    Poor Thanksgiving gets shortchanged these days. Last month the stores had Halloween and Christmas stuff for sale at the same time. What’s the rush? I say let each holiday have its own time. I do love to see the outdoor lights…any time after Thanksgiving. 🙂

    Like

  5. 04ling November 22, 2014 at 11:48 pm

    I agree. If Christmas decor is up the orange and browns of Thanksgiving get shoved aside. But winter is a full month away. I think dusk at 7:00 pm is reasonable. I’m guessing that we won’t see that until January 21 or 22.

    Maybe I should change the title to fighting the darkness of winter solstice with celebrations of light, but it doesn’t change the fact that this whole town has been putting up Christmas decorations earlier and earlier, and leaving them up later. What used to be a faux pau with leaving decorations up after January first is now Valentines day. This is just nuts.

    Like

  6. 04ling November 22, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    Maybe it will lead to new inventions in outdoor lighting. Keep the strands up all year round, but control the color for orange and red for Halloween. Orange, brown and red for Thanksgiving. Red and Green and multi-colored for Christmas. Red for Valentines day. White for January and Summer. Red, White and Blue for Memorial, Independance, and Veterans Day. Throw in some random purple. Who knows….

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sandi November 23, 2014 at 3:40 pm

    Later, I realized that Christmas decorations have been up downtown for over a week; the parade was yesterday (although we skipped it). We are too lazy to put up outside lights, so who am I to judge? 🙂 Yes, I wrote the book on holiday procrastination.

    Like

  8. 04ling November 24, 2014 at 2:06 am

    I haven’t even checked for downtown decor. I do know one of our major parks is already lit up, but we call it winter in the park. Our yearly Christmas parade is on Friday after Thanksgiving. Sometimes I go, usually not. Normally, I couldn’t get out of work so I am out of practice to go.

    Like

Comments are closed.

