Day 23 NaBloPoMo; Fighting the Fear of the Unknown.

From another post you may know that these past two weeks I pretty much gave up being an avid Mac User.  I’ve been able to upload to CreateSpace by finding work-a-rounds to get a book layout going so I can have page numbers in the corners of the pages and the Book Title in the header on the left page and chapter title on the right but most importantly I need margins so my words don’t get caught in the gutter of book binding.

I purchased Scrivener earlier in the week and I just can’t get my head around it.  It is almost like they do too much for me … put it this way … I know so little about it that I can’t accurately describe how they do too much for me.

Although, I know exactly what I am fighting. I am fighting the fear that when I’m done struggling and I THINK I have my book formatted correctly, I will upload to CreateSpace and the previewer will show that I have to adjust my margins and I can’t because there is no little box that says ‘inside margins’ how many inches or centimeters do you want them.

Instead I’ve got some software developer saying, “Now, now you shouldn’t have to worry about those, I’ve taken care of that for you.”

Now as a woman; where have I heard that before?

As a B or C student putting up with people who have been told that they are the smart ones; where have I heard that before?

I even ventured over to the Microsoft website and checked out Word for Mac, because I saw that they had a mirroring pages option for margins, but I also know it is left and right not gutter or inside and outside margins.  Scrivener used up my allotment for spending money for the next two weeks.  How many programs am I going to have to purchase before I find the right one that fits my needs.   I nearly burst out crying several times today trying to find a work-a-round.  I should be done by now.

Now, I know I don’t know what is going on in software development.   I’ve spent long enough in customer service jobs to know that the customer is nearly almost always wrong and hardly right. I won’t back-pedal on that.  But if they are playing politics with the current chaotic publishing world, they have to know, I meet my goals.  I find a way no matter how many times I burst out crying.  I’m midway through.  The question is who is going to provide the product for me to use?

 

Update:  Things are looking up.  I rented Microsoft Word for a month.  I think I’m making some progress before I turn in for bed.  Yay!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Day 23 NaBloPoMo; Fighting the Fear of the Unknown.

  1. Sandi November 25, 2014 at 1:19 am

    I don’t “like” that you’re having software troubles, April, but I’m glad that you’ve find a temporary solution through Microsoft Word. I’m not a user of Mac or Scrivener (my daughter used Scrivener when she did NaNoWriMo), so I can only offer you my sympathy. Happy Thanksgiving, if I don’t make it to WordPress in the next few days. (My husband would very much like me to take a holiday hiatus from WP, I think.)

    Like

  2. 04ling November 25, 2014 at 1:42 am

    Thanks. I’m getting over it. Except getting stuck is a constant reminder that I have more to do than sit in front of the computer. I still haven’t cleaned out my oven. LOL I know a thing or two about procrastination. I keep thinking I’m going to spray it, then write for a while and then clean it out, but I never SPRAY it. And here I spent HOURS on creating page numbers. I could have been done with the oven. I think the last holdout I have is the Table of Contents. It doesn’t seems to want to work so I think I will just make a table and figure it out for the next book. Scrivener might be better with a fresh product too rather than an imported one. I have more time to learn how to trust it on a fresh project.

    I didn’t get reading Monday done. I’ve been looking forward to seeing your pictures.

    Like

Comments are closed.

