Day 28 NaBloPoMo; Motivation 3rd post of 3 part series.

In the first parts I talk about how fleeting motivation is and I talk about how I had to work on non-motivational skills to carry out some of my goals.  That leaves, what to do when motivation strikes?

Go for it!  Like I said motivation is fleeting, capture it when you can.

Just remember to keep things balanced.  Shower, cook and eat your meals, get enough sleep, and spend time with loved ones.

This is where the work in my non-motivational skills hit home.  If I went to bed which can halt my motivation I can keep up the task even though my motivation waned.

For instance this month.  I was able to meet multiple goals.  My personal NaMo project was to create a timeline for a fiction series that I might get to someday.  Once I found out about the blog posting challenge, I thought that was a great way to build a new blog.  I was highly motivated. But, since I did some work to not rely on motivation, I still was able to get some work done on my timeline and I kept at it for most of the month.

Then my editor returned my manuscript for my next book and I was highly motivated to get it published. After that, it was a daily fight between a daily blog post and to format daily until published, until I got it done.

Not to mention my hours increased at work; cutting into my writing time and my cleaning time.

Now that I mention it, I was also not as motivated to clean my floors or my oven, instead I kept choosing to work on my blog and formatting my book.  Since I wasn’t waiting around for motivation to strike, I found pockets of time to clean and I finished a day a head of time.

I did short myself of some sleep, but the culmination of everything is winding down.  Thanksgiving is over.  I published my book and I’m having a free giveaway day tomorrow, (Saturday) and another one on Cyber Monday.  I have a new project simmering and NaBloPoMo is ending this weekend.

The only thing that took a real backseat this month is my exercising and running.  Earlier this year, my running friend wanted us to join in on the jingle run we have right before our Christmas light parade.  Umm,   I guess that was tonight.  Like right now.  Well motivated or not I blew that goal.

Humph.  Maybe there is a New Years Day run….

Tagged: , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Day 28 NaBloPoMo; Motivation 3rd post of 3 part series.

  1. Sandi November 29, 2014 at 12:22 am

    Congratulations on getting your book formatted and published — and on keeping up with the blog all month!

    Like

  2. 04ling November 29, 2014 at 12:32 am

    Thanks. I can hardly believe that I didn’t without trying to double up a day or something. Now I’m not so sure what to do. You did very well on your photo 101 yourself. You got me thinking I need to take it after I retake the blogging 101 or …we retake it… yay!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandi November 29, 2014 at 10:10 am

    Well — I dropped the ball on Photo 101 this week, but I’m planning to finish up next week. To tell you the truth, I was hoping for slightly more practical tips from Photo 101 (how to use light better, etc.), but, just like with 101, I’ve met some friendly or like-minded people, some of whom are bonafide photographers. I highly recommend it for the social experience alone. 🙂 Yes, still thinking it would be a good idea to finish up Blogging 101.

    Like

  4. 04ling November 29, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    Yeah, but you dropped the ball during Thanksgiving week and you plan on finishing up. So I think you are good there. I think just the thought of these challenges during the Holidays weeds out those who aren’t going to take it seriously. You didn’t let it scare you off. You stepped up and made it work.

    My sister is a photographer and she basically taught herself about lighting. Any professional classes around here are buried in other degrees like graphic arts and didn’t give her the details that she needed. So she bought some books on lighting and then took her house lamps and moved them around a subject so she could see the difference. Eventually she built up enough confidence to buy professional lamps and continued testing her theories.

    Like

Comments are closed.

