Day 30 NaBloPoMo: Finished! On to other projects!

I did it!  I posted every single day in November.   I may have had 2 or 3 late 2:00 am posts so by the clock it looked like I posted twice in one day, but I made sure I posted before I went to bed.  There were two days where I forgot to cross-post onto BlogHer, but still I got my butt in the chair and posted every single day.  Even though I may not have won-won, I will do it again with stricter criteria.  To where:

  1. I must have the post done by midnight with cross-post and time to spare.
  2. I have to actually think of something and not whine and complain about time restrictions because I can’t think of a proper post.

Now on to December’s projects!

Look-it what I got.

.IMG_0467_2

 

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s First Draft of the Little House Books, titled Pioneer Girl.  I was shocked at the $37.00 price tag.  I pretty much put it on the someday-maybe-never list and here my husband went and ordered it for Christmas.

It is an Annotated Autobiography and boy is it ever annotated.  Look-it how thick it is.

IMG_0468_2

So.  I suppose it is worth the $37.00.  It is a 400 page book with a 70 page introduction.  The margins are as wide as a side bar on a blog and chock full of information on treaties, territories, manuscript revisions, pictures, maps, illustrations …  okay I even found a reference to an instant phenomenon that Teddy Roosevelt created with the phrase Nature Faking.  He used it to describe over-romanticizing animal intuitions and exaggerating their traits and habits to push the plot in fiction.   (He was getting cranky about fiction authors teaching readers the wrong habits of animals and he came up with nature faking; and it took off.)  Isn’t that hilarious?

I figure with Christmas, birthdays, New Years, along with working, finishing my next book (Faithfulness) and with two days a week writing blog posts, along with reading blogs, I’m going to stay busy.   I still need to run…

Anyway… this has been a blast.  Thank you WordPress and Thank you BlogHer.  And thanks to my new friends that I am following and those who are following me.   I’m already looking forward to a great new year by retaking blogging 101 in January, and I have a couple of ideas for future blogs posts.

Plus I will have two new books to read as two people in my writers group finished their NaMoWriMo projects today!  Their next goal is to edit, edit and edit some more, then off to publishing in the next coming months.   YaY!

Happy Writing Everyone!

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “Day 30 NaBloPoMo: Finished! On to other projects!

  1. 04ling November 30, 2014 at 11:05 pm

    You can get it almost anywhere but here is the link to the projects blog. http://pioneergirlproject.org

    Like

  2. Sandi December 1, 2014 at 12:12 am

    The Laura Ingalls Wilder book sounds fascinating — if expensive. It amazes me to think that she started writing the Little House books at age 60: this gives me hope. Of course, she had written articles about farm stuff before. Still, it is encouraging to think that a late start didn’t keep her from success.

    Congratulations on finishing your month of blogging every day!

    Like

    • 04ling December 1, 2014 at 12:32 am

      Thank you!
      Yeah, I was thinking it is never too late too. My time is right now. And if it isn’t? I’m having fun trying.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

