24 Hour Day: Getting Ready 2 hours

Slide05 I know I have spent two hours on just getting myself ready for the day.  To shower, shave, and do the 3-step beauty routine.  Get out of the shower, dry off, and lotion up.  Then comb, add product, blow dry, and style my hair.  Then on to a complete make-up routine, which, by the way, grows with the addition of serums and primers.  Nails? Mostly get done outside of this two-hour block of time. If they get done at all because I can’t wear nail polish at work. The routine continues on with choosing what to wear, along with jewelry, and accessories.

Okay, okay… I don’t get into choosing a handbag, but I do love a good WoW factor for a shoe.  … wait, maybe it’s a seamless transition to the shoe.  …BUT!  With a good pop of color.   (See what I mean.)

Needless to say I also have a short routine … and a shorter one.

Have you tried “going all out” in your beauty routine to see how long it takes? I write this because I imagine you have.  If not for vanity then at least to test some limits.  To create some boundaries of enough is enough.  How do I choose what to do and what not to do?

Okay, this does not plague me all day long, but there is a struggle between vanity and short-changing myself. I may brag about my 10-20 minute A.M. beauty routine, but throughout the day something less assure creeps up on me.  Especially when catching glimpses of my reflection here and there, “Would my hair hold it’s shape if I had just spent a little more time this morning?  Am I throwing out signals that I neglect myself?”

This segment was another one that was hard to pin down while keeping everyone in mind.  I know not every one has kids.  I’m not sure how many people get their spouses ready, as their might be some.  I do expect that both spouses and kids are constantly interrupting as they need to find something, get an opinion, or need a shoe tied. Yet, my husband gets ready faster than I do, and then scrapes my windshield. I’m guessing that anyone trying to set a comfortable pace for getting ready are going to find things, like scraping a windshield, to use the time up.

I’m getting carried away here and need to remember that for this specific time segment a half hour is allocated for bedtime.  Yep bedtime — brush teeth, wash face, put jammies on.  For those of you who allow three hours before work, don’t forget we allocated an hour for breakfast in the last segment.

We all know this evening routine is a struggle.  That’s why those wet facial towelettes were invented! If there is anyone who still thinks two hours is a ridiculous amount time for primping, let’s go to the gym and get ready for a third time after our sweaty work-out. Seriously, my exercise routine didn’t become more routine until I got a handle on this getting ready stuff. Why? Because when you think of doing an hour workout, you think of 60 minutes.  It gets discouraging when that hour becomes an hour and twenty minutes before you get a chance to be involved with your next demand.

In the end, my seeking to find a comfortable time frame became even more uncomfortable.  When, I allowed too much time, it was really hard to not pack more stuff in.  The effect quickened the pace and increased the feeling of, “not enough time.”  I kept at it and worked through it, but it was tough going because the running total is at 13 out of 24 hours.  We have used more than half a day, and we really haven’t even walked out the door yet.  We’ve talked about it, but with a bed time routine, sleep, three meals, and getting ready for the day, it’s possible that we are still home.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “24 Hour Day: Getting Ready 2 hours

  1. writerjecook May 20, 2015 at 12:01 pm

    That’s why I shaved my head. In and out of the shower in 20 minutes. Very liberating. Just sayin’ 🙂

    Like

  2. 04ling May 20, 2015 at 11:10 pm

    Not only would that completely eliminate blow drying and curling my hair but it would also cut my shower time in half.

    Like

  3. Susan June 13, 2015 at 7:05 pm

    Hi! First, thanks for visiting my site! So, we nurses, fifty percent of us – it’s ponytail, lipstick and go. No one wears a dress anymore, so only the nurses under the age of thirty worry about shaving the legs 🙂 That’s for work days. Personally, on the high end, it can take me up to 1.5 hours to do everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 04ling June 15, 2015 at 9:48 am

      LOL! Amazing how times flies. For me I try to get eyeliner and mascara on before I leave the house. That mascara can take a while if it’s misbehaving.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.

