TGIM: Thank God It’s Monday

source unknown

source unknown

Today’s lesson in Blogging 101 is to participate in a blogging event from the Community Event Listings.   I chose to take part in the Thank God It’s Monday event from TASTE & SEEeven though it’s Wednesday and not Monday.

Why?  Well it doesn’t really make a difference anymore.  In our 24/7/365 lifestyle the weekend up and disappeared.  Poof.  We have days off now and they don’t always line up with Saturday and Sunday.  My Wednesday might be your Friday and your Monday might be my Tuesday.   For those who work 12 hr shifts they may have a Saturday and 2 Sundays.  The communal routine to get off work on Friday, get smashed, go to church on Sunday and ask for forgiveness to start the grind all over again on Monday is no more.

I chose this blogging event because I actually experienced what it is like to truly enjoy Mondays.  Things were so bad, that I wanted to put the week behind me and get fresh start.  Days off meant a stasis in the status quo.  I was trying to prevent things from getting worse and I had to work to get out of it.  The present sucked.  I was fighting, clawing, and pulling, to drag the future towards me.  With that I suddenly loved Mondays … couldn’t wait for them to get here.  Forget “the future is now” I wanted the future to be yesterday.  Mondays meant new opportunities, new chances, another step in the RIGHT direction. I wanted MORE of them.

Today, I have a less obsessive and more balanced outlook on Mondays.  If I love my job, (the biggest cause for hating Mondays) if I love my family, if I relish life, shouldn’t I love Mondays?

After the break of the weekend, shouldn’t everyone look forward to meeting the people they work with?   Shouldn’t I enjoy working with them.  Everyday is another day to experience family life, not just the weekends.  Everyday is another day to produce who I am to my family and their opportunity to produce who they are to me.  That is not dependent on a Monday or a Friday.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “TGIM: Thank God It’s Monday

  1. anotherwisemonkey June 24, 2015 at 1:22 pm

    Hey, thanks for a fresh and zesty perspective on Mondays. I don’t mind them myself. Normally Tuesday is my toughest day of the week. Do you have a favourite day?

    I’m lucky in that my job does follow the Monday to Friday routine, and although I work some weekends they’re the exception, not the rule.

    Like

    • 04ling June 24, 2015 at 1:37 pm

      I just left a Monday-Friday job and I have to admit that it was nice, but at the same time, not everyone was in sync with me. The people that I hang with, some work on Saturday, some are off at 7pm, some go in at 5 am.

      A favorite day? Even though I’m constantly working to improve my attitude at work, it still pulls me away from the people I want to spend my day with so any day I have at home is a favorite day. No matter what day of the week it is.

      Liked by 1 person

      • anotherwisemonkey June 24, 2015 at 1:39 pm

        Fair play. Sunday’s definitely my favourite day. I’ve normally relaxed by then and have time to see friends, go for long runs and write.

        Like

  2. 04ling June 24, 2015 at 1:42 pm

    That is very true.

    Like

  3. Sandi June 24, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    You are right, April: so many businesses are open all weekend now that the traditional TGIF attitude applies to a much smaller segment of the population.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. 04ling June 25, 2015 at 10:39 am

    Hi Sandi, it makes it hard to plan birthday parties and baby showers. I wonder if we will get to place where we book them for Wednesday at 2:00 pm. ???

    Like

Comments are closed.

