Travel Time 1 Hour

Slide08

I explained this to my daughter once. Even though I thought I did my fair share of driving everyone to accommodate their plans, she was mad that I didn’t do it more often for her and her friends.  As we left the driveway, I pointed to the clock on the dash and said we will time it. It took 10 minutes.  Then I explained that it is going to take 10 minutes to get back home.  That is a total of 20 minutes.  Then, when I go pick her up, I have to take another 20 minutes to do it all over again.  A total of 40 minutes. Then add time for each kid to pick up or drop off along the way.

A total of 40 minutes!

Actually I enjoyed having “car-time” with my kids and I love driving.  What I didn’t like was how much time it actually took just to make a short jaunt.

…Plus all the stopping and starting, to get home to start something then stop and pick everyone up.

…And… that it seemed to happen when I wanted to eat.  (we usually cook once then fend for ourselves for two days.)

For travel time, that is just dropping kids off at the skate park, movies, or at a friend’s house.  So what else is there:

  • to work and back
  • to school and back
  • multiple schools …with different start times?
  • errands
  • do you work out at home or at a gym?

If all this traveling takes more than an hour for you, we probably already have it covered with something I overshot with eating or cleaning or something.  By the way this is just the travel time to do errands, not the errand itself.  That is coming up later.

If you have ever got home and marveled at how long it took just to make a few stops; this is why.  It all adds up.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

