Exercise 1 Hour

Slide10You know the drill.

Alternate every other day, 20-30 minutes strengthening with 1 hour aerobic.

The more recent marketing focus is one hour a day and everyday.

I know I didn’t have the reserves to make this hour happen until I made some changes. Aside from this excuse of a crammed packed 24 hour day, my diet was constantly feeding a chemical reaction to create inflammation, induce migraines, disrupt my sleep, hindered nutrient absorption to make my bones weak, made my liver work overtime … and probably made my adrenal glands work overtime too.

On top of that this grain is a necessary staple for a healthy diet and not long ago we were supposed to get 12 servings a day.  I still need to go to the doctor and make it official, but until then I’m tracking my changes, if it’s not an allergy or a disease.

I’m not saying that you need to jump on any diet bandwagon before you start exercising.  (in this case gluten)  But what I am saying is to stop and figure it out.  Take a look at your excuses and start investigating them like symptoms.

I did.  My result is that I, at 45, ran 1.25 miles, for the first time since they forced me to in Jr. High.

I tell ya.  Running because I wanted to run and because I made the time to learn how to endure the distance and the idea that I could go much, much, much farther …  is so affirming.  It affirms that I was right as a child that I couldn’t do it like the others could.  It affirms that it’s possible for me to do.  It affirms that I am included in that group it’s possible for.  Not because I was a harass about it and I needed the pressure, but because I took the pressure off and took a good hard look at my excuses and figured it out.

I took the pressure off and now I want to double it.  I want to run 2.5 miles.  I know people run marathons, but seriously … is it in my future?

bwahaha.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

