Fruity Friday Event: Patience

Hello!

It’s Saturday!  Right off the bat I miss a deadline.  Proof that I did not become perfect from this fruity experiment.

I lost my near perfect draft because I had the “swipe pages” activated on my mouse and I guess I accidentally swiped.  I about died when I recovered a draft that was garbage from all the cutting and pasting to perfect my work.

It was two in the morning, further proof that slipping into old habits weren’t going to make things happen.  So I made a quick comment so the people who liked or commented would get the virtue of the week and I figured, regrettably, that I’d start a new post in the morning.

I still couldn’t recover the draft.  Disillusioned, I went for a walk/run to the location of my new job.  (I just got ANOTHER new job.  My last day at my old new job was Thursday, the night I lost the draft.  That was proof the job didn’t jive with my personal life.) Anyway.  I went grocery shopping.  I hung out with my husband.  I entertained visitors.  I went visiting.

What I didn’t do?

  • I didn’t wallow in embarrassment that I missed a deadline in front of the ENTIRE blogosphere.  Especially those who joined the event.
  • I didn’t cry it’s not fair, because I worked so hard and my intentions were good then demand that it should have worked based on that criteria.
  • I didn’t toss and turn all night.  I went to bed and I went to sleep.
  • I didn’t let it wreck my good day.

Now don’t get me wrong.  I wasn’t happy about it.  I didn’t celebrate losing it.  Periodically I would check back in with the problem, groan about my options, then get back to my day.

This morning I logged on because the a.m. is my time to write and I had those options to follow through on.  When the software asked to restore a recent back up that was in my browser, I got curious and I made a couple more attempts and I found a draft that was a bit rougher than the near perfect one.

What I did do and didn’t do are HUGE changes for me.  They are less self-destructive and less miserable.  Because of this fruity experiment, the moments I’m excited are more than the moments when I’m stressed.

Here is what’s relevant from yesterday’s fiasco.

**********

I love a good Ah-Ha moment.

A person gets so excited about the stroke of brilliance that they usually don’t concern themselves with the regret of not thinking of it sooner.

The epiphany about an epiphany is that once you see it, that’s the way you see things.

You know what?  I quit smoking and regret for quitting sooner doesn’t factor into it.  I agree, all those years I smoked were a waste, yet I am so happy that I quit, I have no regret.  It’s intriguing to ask, “Does creating change induce the fear of living in regret?”  If that is the case, wouldn’t that fear prolong the quit and induce more regret for not quitting sooner?

When I think about the topic of smoking, I’m glad I quit.  It feels good and that’s it.

I love how a good Ah-Ha moment feels.  It reverberates.  It tingles, my shoulders relax, I perk up and stand taller.  I feel right with the universe.  I feel like I’ve gained knowledge with this new insight.  That makes me feel I’ve matured.  Not matured as if I’d just aged, but matured as if I gained power and I’m young enough to use it.

And that is the point.

Right?

**********

Patience is the virtue for this Fruity Friday.

To start things off, think of how close Patience is to Self-control and learn how to separate the two.  Then see how using Patience is showing Kindness, spreading Goodness, Gentleness and demonstrating Faithfulness.  This is a mind-bender and part of the process.  In fact I nearly gave up because it appeared repetitive.  Then flip it and see how they stand apart from each other.  I’m glad I didn’t because each one had an impact on my perspective.

I may instruct you on how to get into observation mode, but the best part of this event is you come up with the answers.  I don’t tell you what to say.  I don’t tell you how you should feel, nor do I tell you how to act or react.  In any given situation you will have the best read on things going on in that moment.  More than anyone else who will not be in that moment with you.

Tune in to your surroundings.  Whenever you feel that quickening to be immediate, or feel the pressure of right now, or the urge to snap at someone out of being impatient, merely pause, remember that everything is okay, then move forward with your options.  It is also good to test the results of doing nothing.  Do nothing but watch and learn, that is.

Remember to trust yourself.  Your not going to do anything that will result in losing your job, getting a divorce or intentionally harming someone.  Are you really that mean or that stupid? Give yourself credit.

Oh yeah, and stay away from admonishments of patience.  There is nothing naughty about this.  The exercise isn’t to shame, restrain, or punish impatience.  The goal is to find what to do INSTEAD of being impatient.

Finally next Friday, go to your blog and write about one of the many profound events you had during the week and add a link to this post.  If you are following this blog, you should receive an email that details my experience with Patience and the virtue for next weeks event.

Happy Observing,

Happy Writing!

Blog On!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

