Query

In this day and age of write and publish, I am writing query letters in search of an agent.

In my search, I passed on an agent but her submission guidelines stuck with me.

She wanted three short paragraphs.

  1. Who are you?
  2. Why does your book need to be published?
  3. A short synopsis.

Wow. I got a little flippant at the first question.

“Who are you?”

A Writer. (.)

Wouldn’t that’d be neat to just end it there? LOL. Then I thought, “It’s true, everything else; wife, mom, employee, boss, woman, human, is just fodder for my writing.”

Then I thought number 2 and 3 were the same question posed two different ways. I mean, isn’t that what a synopsis is? I wrote this book … you need to read this book… because yada, yada, yada…

But, it’s all about the details, isn’t it? Sometime later I came up with this.

I am a writer.

I smoked for 28 years and smokers want to read what I wrote.

I had been very curious to know how to get from here (a smoker) to there (a non-smoker).  I wanted the information but I wanted it on my own terms without the threat of having my cigarettes taken away.

I used to ask former smokers how they quit all the time.  The common response was, “You have to WANT it.” I usually left the discussion thinking,”Of course I want it, but I want to know HOW?”

Today, people get curious and ask how I quit smoking. Turns out, going beyond the explanation of “You’ve got to want it,” is too much for one conversation, so much, that it creates a whole book.  That full circle experience with curiosity is how I know these books will sell.

 

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

