Points To Address For The Feminism Movement

Generations of us women have done our part to break the chains of the kitchen and the never-ending laundry. The results from that movement are hard to reconcile, because the housecleaning fairy never shows up to do the daily chores. We crawl into bed remembering a promise of independence; yet our duties take the entire day. Then we wake up to repeat yesterday’s template, with nothing gained.

Here are some conflicts that, for me, arise nearly on a daily basis. I wonder if you feel the same?

Women are no longer spending their lives between the ages of 18 and 60 raising ten children. It’s time our thinking caught up with that.

Stop perpetuating the idea that staying home with the children is a choice made for a lifetime. Of an eighty to one hundred year lifespan, about twenty are spent on children. With retirement at the age of seventy-three, a person works the span of fifty-five years. To stay home with the children is a choice that likely lasts five to twenty years. That leaves room for a thirty-five to fifty year career.

The point is … Yes, you can have it all; just not all at once.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Points To Address For The Feminism Movement

  1. aprilleighs March 29, 2016 at 5:03 pm

    Hi! Thanks for following my blog! I’m enjoying reading through your posts.

    I have a question regarding this post: what do you think about the cultural idea that, once a woman chooses to be a stay-at-home mom with her kids, re-accessing the workforce is nearly impossible due to a lack of resume and recent experience? I watched my mom deal with that struggle, and I know there are plenty of movies, TV shows, and self-help books on that theme.

    Just wanted to hear about your thoughts and experience 🙂

    Like

    • 04ling March 29, 2016 at 6:22 pm

      Hi! Always nice to meet another April! Thanks for the comment. That is the very notion I’m trying to challenge. It is almost as if people forget that children become independent. When they do women will go to work, because they are still young enough to work.

      Hopefully, if there are enough people who set the standard, H.R. isn’t going to have a choice but deal with gaps in work history. Especially if H.R. personnel want the option for themselves. I do believe this is changing as more men take advantage of the Family Medical Act.

      The fact that your Mom struggled is proof that changes NEED to be made. I bet she doesn’t regret her decision to stay home, so no one should be making her feel like crap for doing so. That is where we lose our choice.
      There is more coming on this topic, so I hope you stay in touch. 🙂

      Like

  2. momtheobscure April 1, 2016 at 7:29 pm

    I am a SAHM now that my only son is 9 I have a twinge of guilt and fear that I will have a hard time re-entering the work place. Thank you so much for this reaffirming piece.

    Like

    • 04ling April 6, 2016 at 8:29 pm

      Your welcome. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

Comments are closed.

