NaBloPoMo 6:Independent Career

img_1319   I am a writer. I write almost daily, not just when it is convenient, nor only when I feel like it.  I have subject matter.  I have a demographic of 41 million people in the USA alone. People express curiosity about my subject matter. My dilemma; do I seek representation or do I self-publish?

My goal is to be a writer independent of a day job.  As long as I am working toward that goal, I don’t care if I get there by agent and publishing company or if I get there by self-publishing.

The problem is that I keep flip-flopping between using my writing time to seek an agent or editing my book.  So far writing a proposal has served me well for creating a business plan in case I do not find an agent.

The more I study techniques to find an agent the more I feel shoved out as a person they do not want.  Unless, I do more work to gain a following that actually enhances my ability to successfully self-publish.

My time has value.  An agent’s time has value.  A publicists time has value. A publishing company’s time has value.  I’m sure if we all got together we’d work to produce something of value.

One day I will see how my success plays out.  I find that interesting.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

