Geographical Oddity

Well! Ain’t this place a geographical oddity.  Two weeks from everywhere!

-George Clooney Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?

I wish we were talking about my favorite movie, “Oh Brother Where Art Thou.”

I wish we were talking about some geographical location.  It doesn’t even have to be an exotic locale.  …Where the heck is Wall Drug anyway?

But a while back some dumb ass looked at some tongue with some rashy areas outlined in white and called it a geographic tongue.

-It’s named.  Because of its map like appearance.  Officially it is called benign migratory glossitis

-Call it good.  Because its benign and painless.

-End of story.  Since it’s named and it stops there, there is nothing to do about it.  Quit asking questions.

Okay, I haven’t done enough research to be calling anyone a dumbass.  For all I know this person is/was highly intelligent and had no idea what he was looking at. For all I know, my tolerance for pain dropped as I aged and I just got whiney.  But! Boy! Would I love to get 100 people with a geographical tongue in a room to ask questions.

I’m going to start right here for now.

I don’t understand why someone hasn’t been curious enough to do this by now.  Well maybe they have and I just haven’t run across that information yet.

If you can’t tell I’m a little angry.  One reason why I am blogging on this particular subject is so I can work through some of this anger instead of simmering in it. I don’t want to share my anger.  The idea is to get 100 people with a geographic tongue in a room.  I do not need to get 100 angry people in a room.

I guess it all started in my youth when I was six or so.  I would have flare ups or blooms but the white lines never disappeared like I’m told they do.  My geographic tongue has never gone away on its own without treatment like all the sources say it should.  At least until I stopped eating gluten after a few weeks.

And that was my WTF moment.  All my life, this oddity that has been my tongue, didn’t have a cause.  Nor, was it supposed to cause any symptoms beyond a fissured tongue.  Then continued abstinence from gluten brought relief from my migraine quality headaches.

This was a complete surprise because gluten was on a list of trial and error experiments because I was gaining weight when I should have been losing.  This began my quest to look at a geographic tongue as a symptom rather than a condition and to document it.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello. I love a good meaty discussion, so please, say what you think. At its core this is a manners blog, please take a moment to represent yourself in the best light and reply to others as if they represented their best.

