Geographical Oddity: FODMAP

So after two years of not having insurance, I finally get this really awesome policy from my new job and I went and saw an allergist.  I had already been gluten free for most of the year. She told me that I don’t have any allergies.  So then I made an appointment with a Gastroenterologist.

He put me on the FODMAP diet.  FODMAP is an acronym for Fructans, Oligosaccharides, Disaccharides, Monosaccharides and Polyols.  In short;  they are short-chain carbohydrates.

A lot of it doesn’t make sense because it villainizes current good foods like avocados and redeems bad health foods such as carrots.  I can eat cantaloupe but not watermelon.  I can eat sugar but no sugar substitutes.  Not even the xylitol that is supposes to be good for your teeth. I’ve never been one for sugar substitutes so this doesn’t bother me. But I can’t eat the cancer fighters, garlic and onion.  Not to mention that they are in everything.  Those are much harder to eliminate than gluten ever was.

So we did that for about eight weeks, he put me on Difulcan then we made a six month follow up appointment.

I eliminated Gluten, High Fructose Corn Syrup, or at least confirmed that this was correct. And I also eliminated MSG and raw onion.  Farther along in the year I eliminated honey, nuts, and I started controlling my salt.  Something is still amiss.

For one: I had to eliminate dairy, but I could eat butter and sharp cheddar cheese.  I have never liked sharp cheddar and this diet proved that, that stuff made me queazy.  When I was off the diet, I re-introduced some soft cheese like colby and provolone then eliminated the hard aged cheese.  For two: I was supposed to eat nuts on the FODMAP diet, but I still seem to get a reaction from nuts. Plus although I really, really don’t want to admit this as much as I didn’t want to admit the honey, but I think something is going on with ketchup, tomatoes, and pickles.  It seems as though the more foods I eliminate the more I find foods that have been affecting me.

Since I haven’t quite nailed down what bothers me, I have been painting my tonsils and the blooms on my tongue with Children’s liquid Benadryl and it feels wonderful.  I pour some out in a spoon and dip my finger in and then stick it in my mouth before it drips. I can touch my tonsils without gagging and I feel a soothing trickle down my throat. This is a recent idea of my mothers. I do it two or three times a day.  I’m almost afraid to swallow because the Dr. also put me on Claritin for three months.  It might be a slippery slope if I start drinking half a bottle of Benadryl on top of a daily Claritin.

Too bad I caught a head cold, not sure what I have been treating, but it feels good enough to keep going. This is why I would like to get 100 people with a geographic tongue in a room.  I want to know who else does this?  What foods affect other people?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello. I love a good meaty discussion, so please, say what you think. At its core this is a manners blog, please take a moment to represent yourself in the best light and reply to others as if they represented their best.

